Thursday, August 17, 2017

Civil forfeitures on the down swing

Today, three states—North Carolina, New Mexico and Nebraska—have abolished civil forfeiture entirely, reports the Institute for Justice.

Since 2014, 24 states and the District of Columbia have reformed their civil forfeiture laws:
Minnesota (the state enacted reforms in both 2014 and 2017)
Michigan (the state enacted reforms in both 2015 and 2017)
Utah (the state enacted reforms in both 2015 and 2017)

Fourteen states now require a criminal conviction for most or all forfeiture cases:
North Carolina
Missouri (enacted in 1993)
California (enacted in 1994) (excluding cash over $40,000)
Oregon (enacted in 2000)
New Mexico
New Hampshire
Ohio (excluding property valued at over $15,000)
Iowa (excluding property valued at over $5,000)
In a similar vein, Utah bans forfeiture for cases where the claimants are found not guilty and are acquitted.
To read more CLICK HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment