Today, three states—North Carolina, New Mexico and Nebraska—have abolished civil forfeiture entirely, reports the Institute for Justice.
Since 2014, 24 states and the District of Columbia have reformed their civil forfeiture laws:
Fourteen states now require a criminal conviction for most or all forfeiture cases:
Missouri (enacted in 1993)
California (enacted in 1994) (excluding cash over $40,000)
Oregon (enacted in 2000)
Ohio (excluding property valued at over $15,000)
Iowa (excluding property valued at over $5,000)
In a similar vein, Utah bans forfeiture for cases where the claimants are found not guilty and are acquitted.
To read more CLICK HERE
Post a Comment